Mit Sicherheit zum Global Player

Wie hat es Netcetera zum Marktführer für Hosted 3-D Secure Services geschafft? Und was hat Edward Snowden damit zu tun?

2013 arbeitet Netcetera unter Hochdruck daran, aus ihren Hosted Services für das 3-D Secure-Verfahren (3DS) ein Produkt zu machen. Bereits 2003 hat man in einem Kraftakt für die Viseca, die in der Schweiz Kreditkarten von Visa und Mastercard vertreibt, das 3DS-Protokoll implementiert – auf einem der ersten Access Control Server (ACS) Europas.

In der Folge etabliert sich 3DS immer mehr zum Standard zur Authentisierung für Kreditkartenzahlungen im Internet, so dass Netcetera zahlreiche Folgeaufträge von weiteren Kreditkartenherausgebern erhält. Dennoch verdient man unter dem Strich über Jahre kaum einen Franken damit. Aufwändige Implementierung, fehleranfällige und teure Software eines Drittanbieters und zu aufwendig der Unterhalt der Hochsicherheits-Infrastruktur. Doch man kämpft weiter, denn das Potenzial scheint riesig.

Zur gleichen Zeit erfährt die die Welt vom heute berühmtesten Whistleblower der Welt. Nach seiner ersten Veröffentlichung geheimer Dokumente der NSA, zeigt Edward Snowden, dass Daten in den USA nicht so sicher sind, wie viele denken.

Infolgedessen sehen sich viele nach einer europäischen Lösung um und nicht wenige migrieren ihre Daten zur Netcetera nach Zürich.

Seit 2018 läuft bei Netcetera ein eigener ACS nach der neuesten Protokollversion 2.0. Noch im gleichen Jahr wird er vom Standardisierungsgremium EMVCo als einer der ersten ACS Europas zertifiziert. Da man mittlerweile auch auf der Händlerseite einen zertifizierten 3DS-Server in Lizenz anbietet, ist Netcetera nun ein weltweit führender Full-Service-Provider für 3DS

Weitere Stories

MEHR STORIES

Becoming a player with security

How did Netcetera manage to become the market leader for Hosted 3-D Secure Services? And what did Edward Snowden have to do with it?

In 2013 Netcetera was working under intense pressure to turn its hosted services for the 3-D Secure process (3DS) into a product. The 3DS protocol was implemented as early as 2003 in a major feat for Viseca, which markets Visa and Mastercard credit cards in Switzerland – on one of Europe's first Access Control Servers (ACS).

Subsequently, 3DS was increasingly becoming the standard for authenticating online credit card payments, so that Netcetera received numerous follow-up orders from other credit card issuers. Nevertheless, it hardly earned a Swiss franc over the years. Implementation was too time-consuming, error-prone and expensive due to the software from a third party provider, and the undergirding of the high-security infrastructure was too complex. But Netcetera pushes forward and expands the existing know-how into an integrated 3DS product. After all, the potential seemed enormous.

At the same time the world learns about the most famous whistleblower in the world today. After his first publication of secret documents of the NSA, Edward Snowden shows that data in the U.S. is not as safe as many think.

Subsequently, many credit card issuers whose ACS was usually operated in the USA had to first look for a European solution and quite a few migrated their data to Netcetera in Zurich.

Netcetera has been running its own ACS based on the latest protocol version 2.0 since 2018. In the same year, it was one of Europe's first Access Control Servers to be certified by the EMVCo standardization committee. Since Netcetera has in the meantime also been offering a certified 3DS server under license on the merchant side, Netcetera is now a world leading full-service provider for 3DS.

More stories

MORE STORIES